Equality Act 2010

What is The Equality Act?

The Equality Act 2010 legally protects people from discrimination, in most environments. It replaced several previous pieces of legislation, that were in place to stop discrimination
There are nine main groups of ‘protected characteristics’ covered under the act. Including age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion or belief, sex and sexual orientation.
The Act covers four main types of discrimination. They are categorised as; direct discrimination, indirect discrimination, harassment and victimisation.

Why Does it Matter?

The Equality Act 2010 includes protection from discrimination in the working environment; therefore it has a significant impact in the workplace.
It is the responsibility of a business to ensure that discrimination does not take place within the workplace. An employer should make sure that relevant policies are in place to comply with the Act.

Having these policies can mitigate risks that may be brought to the business, such as if a business is accused of discrimination.

Through implementing policies which address discrimination, especially how a business plans to deal with any discriminatory behaviour within the workplace can mitigate the risks that may be brought on if a business is accused of discrimination.

How Loates HR Consultancy Can Help

• Ensure your company is encouraging equality and diversity through creating policies that comply with the Equality Act 2010
• Inform your employees of the implications of the Equality Act 2010
• Advise you on how to handle discriminatory claims

Scroll to top
Call Now Button